Lasting Impressions

Since it’s nearly impossible to think about anything else at the moment, I wanted to send love and support to Sandy Hook. I sent my own two children off to school this morning, just you probably did, serene in the knowledge that I will be seeing them again this afternoon. But circumstances show that this not necessarily the case, don’t they?

Coincidentally I received my annual holiday card from my elementary-high school art teacher just as I have every year for the past 20+ years since  graduation. Now retired she was once one of the unarmed, caring people we entrust with our children every day. People, who in my opinion, deserve our utmost respect. They are building the future upon which our country rests. It is an incredibly difficult job.

All too often they are called upon to cope with problems that migrate in from outside the classroom, while meeting ever more stringent demands imposed by standardized testing, changing structures and changing technology.  That is not to say that they are not human, they are. As with any workplace some are more suited to it than others.

So as we deal with yet more grief and loss of innocent lives today, I hope you will take a minute to think about some of your great teachers (from classrooms and elsewhere). Maybe write them a note, and thank them for being able to do so. This world needs a lot of healing, and it’s a place to start.

About empirewriter

I am a baker/writer lucky enough to live in northern Michigan. Google+ Heather Harris-Brady

Posted on December 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

