Gearing Up Update and Memories

Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to visit my blog, comment on my pitch polish and contact me in other ways. GUTGAA has so wonderful! If I have tried my best to personally revisit or follow up with everyone, but if I haven’t yet I will!

I would imagine that nearly everyone can remember exactly where they were on 9/11 when they first began hearing the news. I was at my desk. As word started to spread through the office I jumped online to watch the live updates. Needless to say, we were not very productive that morning.

When I left work at lunch the quiet skies seemed so eerie. That evening when I tucked my son (then my only child) into bed I truly believed that when we woke up the next day our world would never again be the same. Right then, I took the time to sit down and write a letter for him with my thoughts and memories of that day. I knew that later on I wouldn’t be able to explain it, and that my memory would be colored by whatever was to transpire next.

I love history and I am fascinated by the way history interacts with us on a day to day basis. I’m sure that’s why I’m so drawn to historical mysteries (my current WIP).  The World Trade Center note that just resurfaced is a great example of the power of the written word. Continue writing my friends.

About empirewriter

I am a baker/writer lucky enough to live in northern Michigan. Google+ Heather Harris-Brady

Posted on September 11, 2012, in History, The Writing Experience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment