Meet and Greet!

Questions for the GUTGAA Meet and Greet
-Where do you write?
Any place I can find the time – the hallway at my daughter’s dance school, the kitchen table, my wingback chair – although this one is dangerously comfortable. . .
-Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?
The black and white lamp I found at a resale shop.
-Favorite time to write?
Any time!
-Drink of choice while writing?
Iced tea
-When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?
It depends, sometimes I put it on if I think it will help me get into the character.
-What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?
The inspiration was my exceptionally creative daughter, who loves fashion and mysteries. She is growing up as a Hispanic girl in a small country hamlet, just like my main character Celia.
-What’s your most valuable writing tip?
Just get it down on paper so you can start fixing it!
Thanks for reading GUTGAA friends!
This is a Blog Hop!


17.
57.
106.
117.
130.
138.
140.
147.
153.
156.
157.
163.
188.
207.
208.
219.
240.

About empirewriter

I am a baker/writer lucky enough to live in northern Michigan. Google+ Heather Harris-Brady

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Writing Method. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Hey Heather,

    Great to meet you, too! I really admire your versatility as a writer — the ability to write anyplace, anytime, I’m very jealous! I tried writing on my laptop on the bus once while commuting… it was way to bumpy!

    Cheers and have a great #GUTGAA!

    John
    http://www.johnkrissilas.com/

  2. Your WIP sounds really interesting! Have fun with the GUTGAA!

  3. Hi Heather,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yes, I am a member of SCBWI. Yes, I write children’s stories. Mainly focusing on picture books. Congrats on winning the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Assoc. Literary contest. I’m excited to see where that will lead you!

  4. Hi there, new friend! Hope you’re having as much fun with this as I am. And, just out of curiosity, how the heck did you manage to get the linky list into your post? I didn’t think WordPress would let you do that!

    Anyway, northern Michigan = super pretty from the pictures I’ve seen (a friend of mine went to grad school there). All that beauty must be inspiring.

  5. I like your writing tip. It really is insanely important to just get it down! Nice to meet you!

  6. Your advice, “Just get it down on paper so you can start fixing it!”, is the truth. No one can edit or publish a book they have imagined. It’s nice to meet you!

  7. Hello fellow GUTGAA’er! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I think your inspiration sounds awesome. I have read Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth. In fact, I’ve met her at a writing conference, she’s fabulous.

  8. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I like the fact that your WIP started with your daughter. Our kids are always the best for us (and for me the only reason not to write).

  9. My daughter had her 1st dance class this week. I thought I’d be able to bring my laptop and do some stuff. But there are a bunch of other mothers I know, so I’ll probably do more talking than writing. Oh well.

    • That happens, especially with the very little ones – my daughter has been dancing since she was two, she’s nine now. I used to be a reporter, and I was training to write in the middle of a room with phones ringing and a dozen conversations going on at once – I didn’t realize at the time how handy that would be!

  10. Hi Heather! Yes! Middle grade. And my current MS is a mystery. But as of yet I’m not a SCBWI member. Great to meet you.

  11. Being able to write anywhere is definitely a useful skill!

    I saw through Ellie Heller’s blog that you’re looking for a beta reader. Your plot sounds interesting and fun (especially the part about Celia having to learn to work with a boy–lots of potential for humor there)! I’m a fellow MG writer and I also anticipate being ready for a beta reader in about a month. Here’s my one sentence blurb for my WIP:

    A twelve-year-old boy must prevent his mysterious uncle from stealing a time travel device and changing history, but finds himself tempted to alter the past.

    If you’d like to exchange manuscripts when we both get finished, drop me an email: cgbdowell (at) gmail (dot) com It’s nice to “meet” you.

  12. Hi Heather, Thanks for visiting my blog during GUTGAA. I wanted to let you know that you are the winner of FREAK, by Jennifer Hiiller. Sorry I am a little slow to posting the winners. Please contact me to let me know if you prefer the hard copy or the kindle edition. I hope you love it as much as I did.

    Melissa Sugar
    http://fictiontoolbox,blogspot.com

  13. Hey there! I found you on the beta reader blog post & just left a response to your pitch polish entry. Was wondering if you’d be interested in beta-ing (is that a word?) each other’s manuscripts? I think we both write contemporary MG. 🙂 I have a book that should be ready in about a month that I’d love some feedback on (and it’s set in Michigan!). Your book sounds like so much fun! Here’s my email if you’re interested

Leave a Reply

