The Hero/Heroine’s Journey – Steps 1 & 2: The Ordinary World and The Call to Adventure

One of the happy extras to my writing journey is that fact that my children are both writing, now that they see me writing. I should mention that this has all come about without any interference from me. On their own and of themselves, they write. However, I cannot resist the urge to help them. I started writing in elementary school myself and I know how much farther ahead I could be now if someone had helped me more then.

So, without being too hovering, I find little opportunities to work in bits about writing. One such chance is during family movie night. Most stories include a hero’s journey to some degree, so I have started mentioning it here and there – in the moment – when they can recognize it for what it is.

Step 1: The Ordinary World/ Step 2: Call to Adventure

I’ve combined both these together because they often happen in sync. In these first few moments or few pages we can begin to get an idea of what our hero or heroine is like, just enough so we can begin to bond with them. But typically you don’t have to wait too long before they hear the siren call to adventure. In Rango, we meet the thespian chameleon who is directing himself (in his tank) in adventure “movies”. He is searching for meaning within his characters but when his tank bounces out of the car and shatters he is thrown into a real adventure.

When you start looking for The Call to Adventure you’ll find it everywhere throughout books and movies. What are some of your favorite siren calls to adventure?

About empirewriter

I am a baker/writer lucky enough to live in northern Michigan. Google+ Heather Harris-Brady

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Writing Method, Writing with Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Greetings!

    I’m hopping over from GUTGAA and wanted to start visiting some blogs early! Nice to meet you…you have a lovely blog!

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

